Main Menu

Login Form

About the League

Our Board of Directors

The League of Ohio Sportsmen has a diverse Board of Directors representing Ohioans from all corners of the state. Our board representatives are men, women, anglers, hunters, trappers, boaters, campers, hikers, divers, conservationists, environmentalists, birdwatchers, farmers, teachers, and, most of all, volunteers.


The League has five districts, Central, Northeast, Northwest, Southeast and Southwest, which follow the Ohio Division of Wildlife districts. Each district has a District Vice President and two District Directors who work with clubs and individuals to assist with issues and to promote the League and our programs in their area.


There are three ways to become a voting member of the board:

- Elected Officers and District Directors

- Appointed Committee Chairs and Directors At Large

- Club Directors (one appointed or elected by each member club)


Members of the League's Board of Directors are also members of the League of Ohio Sportmen Foundation (dba Ohio Wildlife Federation) Board of Trustees. An elected officer of the League holds the same position in OWF.


Board meetings are held each month, typically on the 3rd Saturday. While most monthly meetings are held at the League and OWF headquarters in Columbus, the board regularly accepts invitations from member clubs to meet at their club to help promote the League's focus areas in all areas of the state.


Elections for officers and district directors are held at the Annual Meeting & Convention, typically held in February. At the convention, member clubs have two club delegates in addition to their club director to vote on officers, directors, policy and resolutions.

The 2023-24 Elected Officers and Directors of the

League of Ohio Sportsmen and
Trustees of the League of Ohio Sportsmen Foundation




President Jay Peterson
Vice President John Barnhart
Secretary Kathy Brooks
Treasurer Larry Mitchell Jr.
Board Chair
Paul Brooks